New City Council Districts Effective Oct. 20, 2022

Albuquerque City Council district boundaries changed October 20, 2022 after this year’s decennial redistricting process.

The change was put into effect when the city council passed O-22-34, using Concept Map A to define new City Council District boundaries for the next 10 years. City Council webpage notes the updated AGIS mapping layers as of October 20.

The new City Council District boundaries account for population changes and offer minimal change from current Council Districts. Council District boundaries remain identical for Districts 3, 4, and 9. Here is a summary of other district changes:

• District 5 lost population, so its boundaries had to change. Its boundary with District 1 moved north to the bluff south of the Petroglyph Estates.
• District 2 now crosses the river between Central and I-40 to Coors, taking the West Mesa and Pat Hurley neighborhoods from District 1.
• District 6 moves west into District 2 from Buena Vista to I-25 between Gibson and Lomas. District 6 also takes the University West area (including Carrie Tingley Hospital) from District 2.
• District 7 moves south into District 2 from I-40 to Lomas between I-25 and Carlisle not including the University West area.
• District 8 moves into District 7 from Montgomery to Comanche between Wyoming and Eubank.

Click here for a copy of the map effective 10/20/22: