Good things are happening…

Dear Democrat,

Good things are happening up in Santa Fe this session! Legislators are working day and night to help make our state a better place to live. One piece of legislation that will go a long way towards maintaining and improving the standard of living for many working New Mexicans is House Bill 85, sponsored by Representatives Damon Ely (HD23) and Andrea Romero (HD46). It deals with the so-called “Right to Work” issue that Republicans keep trying to push for.

I’ve written about “Right to Work” before, and pointed out the concept’s name is ridiculously misleading. “Right to Work” has nothing to do with an employee’s right to work. It’s really just Republican-speak for “Employer’s Right to Bust Unions and Pay Less”. Susana Martinez tried numerous times to ram “Right to Work” down the throats of New Mexicans, but the Legislature always held firm and protected unions’ rights. But, having failed at the state level, proponents of union busting, like the Koch Brothers front group, Americans for Prosperity, started going around the state, trying to sell the concept to county commissions. Of course, labor organizations and the East Mountain, Rural & Ranchers Caucus have been following the conservatives around the counties to lobby against “Right to Work” at the county level, with mixed success.

HB85 essentially prohibits local government entities, like county commissions, from usurping the state’s authority and prohibits “Right to Work” ordinances at any level within the state. It passed through the House Labor, Veterans’ And Military Affairs Committee on a 6-3 vote and will now go to the House Judiciary Committee, where passage is expected in about two weeks. From there it should go to the House floor, then to the Senate and then to Governor Lujan Grisham’s desk.

Please stand with our brothers and sisters in labor! Contact the members of the Judiciary Committee (listed below) and ask them to move forward expeditiously on HB85, and then contact your own Representatives and Senators to ask them to support its passage this session. We all do better when organized labor thrives!

We MUST keep working together!

Bill Peifer
Chair, Democratic Party of Bernalillo County
505-463-7045 (Text Please)

NM House Judiciary Committee Members
Rep. Gail Chasey 986-4411 gail@gailchasey.com
Rep. Daymon Ely 986-4432 daymon.ely@nmlegis.gov
Rep. Eliseo Lee Alcon 986-4415 eliseo.alcon@nmlegis.gov
Rep. Deborah A. Armstrong 986-4840 deborah.armstrong@nmlegis.gov
Rep. Micaela Lara Cadena 986-4210 micaela.cadena@nmlegis.gov
Rep. Christine Chandler 986-4226 christine.chandler@nmlegis.gov
Rep. Zachary J. Cook 986-4243 zachary.cook@nmlegis.gov
Rep. Brian Egolf 986-4782 brian.egolf@nmlegis.gov
Rep. Dayan Hochman-Vigil 986-4336 dayan.hochman-vigil@nmlegis.gov
Rep. Georgene Louis 986-4329 georgene.louis@nmlegis.gov
Rep. Matthew McQueen 986-4423 matthew.mcqueen@nmlegis.gov
Rep. Greg Nibert 986-4211 greg.nibert@nmlegis.gov
Rep. William “Bill” R. Rehm 986-4214 bill.rehm@nmlegis.gov
Rep. James G. Townsend 986-4758 townsend@pvtn.net